Saturday, 1 October 2011

Socialist Party meetings at Chandigarh and Delhi

          A meeting of the party workers of Punjab state and Chandigarh Union Territory was held in Chandigarh on 17 September 2011 to form the adhoc committees of Punjab and Chandigarh units of the Socialist Party (India). Party's General Secretary Dr. Prem Singh, in his inaugural address, called upon the party members to devote all their efforts, resources  and time in spreading and strengthening the party. He also to get prepared for the coming legislative assembly elections in Punjab. He imphasised that young blood should be persuaded and included in the party at all levels. Party members from Delhi Dr. Ashwani Kumar, Dr. Kunal and Niraj Singh also attended the meeting.  

A 13 member committee, representing different districts, was formed for Punjab state under the convenership of Harendra Singh Mansahia and a 5 member committee under the convenership of Ashok Nirdosh was formed for Chandigarh. The members of the Punjab committee are : Om Singh, Dharam Paul, Mehar Chandra Bhalla, Swarn Singh, Hukam Chand, Ashok Kumar, Gurtej Singh, Malkiat Singh, Gurvinder Singh, Hartej Singh, Rajendra Singh Daani and Balwant Singh Minya.  Chandigarh committee members are : Ratan Singh Baghi, Narendra Puri, Bhanu Pratap and Ramchandra Mishra.

It was decided that the state convention of the party will be held in November. The party will hold various activities during the Satyagrah program to be held from 2 October to 12 October 2011. A seminar on Dr. Rammanohar Lohia and Jai Prakash Narayan will be organised by the party in Chandigarh on 11-12 October as a part of the Satyagrah program. Senior socialist leader Mehar Chand Bhalla presided over the proceedings.

Dr Prem Singh, senior socialist leaders Ratan Singh Baghi and Balwant Singh Kheda along with conveners of Punjab and Chandigarh units addressed a press conference at the end of the meeting.

A meeting of the Socialist Party workers of Delhi state was held on 18 September 2011 in Delhi to discuss the future course of action in the NCR region. Senior socialist leader of Delhi Mrs. Renu Gambhir has been nominated as convener of the Delhi state unit of the party. A 12 member adhoc committee was formed which includes : Dr. Ashwani Kumar, Dr.Mohammad Yunus, Dr. Hemlata, Kedarnath, Dharamvir Singh Khari,  Sahur Khan, Indradev, Lata Yadav, Upendra Styarthi, Poonam, Rajesh Chauhan Satyaprakash Singh.

It was decided in the meeting that Satyagrah campaign (from 2 October to 12 October 2011) will be held in Delhi and National Capital Region (NCR) simultaneously. The state convention of the party will be held in the last week of November. Membership drive and fund raising campaign will be organised on  large scale.      

A 11 member adhoc committee of Socialist Yuvjan Sabha (SYS) was also formed for Delhi state. Shashank Bhardwaj and Ajay Kumar have been nominated conveners and Jayant Kashyap, Sumit Saurav, Sachchidanand Singh, AnupTiwari, Yashwant, Rajeev Kumar, Amit Kumar,  Dr. Kunal and Nikhil Pandey as members of this committee. Dr. Sandeep Yadav will be incharge of the SYS, Delhi state. The meeting was attended by Justice Rajinder Sachar who gave valuable suggestions for the SPI and SYS. Indradev, who presided over the meeting congratulated the newly formed committees' members and urged them to work hard to strengthen the party base in the capital city of India.      

1 comment:



Prof. Keshav Rao Jadhav : A man of Courage, Conviction and Commitment

Prem Singh Prof. Keshav Rao Jadhav, a prominent socialist thinker and leader passes away on 16th June 2018 at a hospital in Hyde...